UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, November 12, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Corwin Cambray, (UTAA) (Chair)

Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering) (Vice-Chair)

Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College)

Neville Austin (Faculty of Music)

Judy Beamish (Medicine)

Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH)

Sandra Comisarow (Nursing)

Perry Cooper (Medicine)

Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM)

Cynthia Elson (Victoria College)

Jason Glover (UTSC)

Kevin Golding (UTM)

Sana Halwani (Law)

Nancy E. Hill (Engineering)

Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy)

Tracey King (OISE)

Joel Leon (Architecture)

Paul Lindblad (New College)

Amy Matchen (University College)

Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE)

Robert A. Patrick (Innis College)

David F. Poirier (Engineering)

Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Dorinda So (UTSC)

Michael Stargiannis (Engineering)

Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College)

J. Alison Stirling (Information)

Matthew Stodolak (OISE)

Stephen Tardif (St. Michael's College)

Emily VanBerkum (St. Michael's)

Anne Venton (OISE) Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

Secretariat:

Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council Patrick McNeill, Secretary

Regrets:

Keith Chen (UTSC)

Taleen Chouljian (Rotman)

Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College)

Jennifer Dolman (University College)

Daniel J. Correia

Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy)

Paul Haynes (Victoria College)

Oliver Jerschow (University College)

Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth)

Rachele Levin (Forestry)

Michael Masson (UTM)

Victoria McNally (St. Michael's)

Sheila V. Neuburger (Social Work)

Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Guests:

Claire Kennedy, Chair of the Governing Council Professor Meric Gertler, President, University of Toronto Scott MacKendrick, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. The Chair also welcomed Ms Claire Kennedy, Chair of the Governing Council, President Meric Gertler, and Mr. Scott MacKendrick, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association, who had joined the meeting, specifically to address the College on the attributes and requirements for alumni governors for 2019; and Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council.

The College moved *In Camera*.

2. Attributes and Requirements for Alumni Governors 2019

The Chair noted that three seats would need to be filled as of June 30, 2019. He reported that as part of a preliminary discussion of the attributes and also on the requirements most in need for 2019, the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President had met with the COE Executive Committee on Monday, October 29th.

The College received comments from the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President.

Following an extensive discussion by Members, it was agreed that the following attributes would be highlighted in the 2019 *Call for Nominations for Alumni Governors* and there is a particular interest in recruiting alumni who:

- Are engaging and persuasive communicators;
- Are highly creative, strategic and critical thinkers, who engage with emerging ideas and technologies to reimagine the University of the future;
- Have governance experience and consensus-building skills;
- Have a general knowledge of and experience(s) in various functions important to the University ((by) for example: entrepreneurship; innovation; global risk management; and financial management such as investment and pension experience);
- Are energetic and can act as dedicated advocates for post-secondary education on behalf of the University;
- Have a capacity to master the complexity of the University, and its evolution as a preeminent teaching and research institution;
- Are active as volunteers within the University and have a strong community presence;

Attributes and Requirements for Alumni Governors 2019 continued:

- Have international experience and/or networks; and
- Have an affinity for mentorship and (being) willing to act as an inspirational role model with an interest in shaping and guiding the changing student experience at the University.

3. Alumni Governor Election Process

Members discussed the Alumni Governor election process and reviewed the draft 2019 Alumni Governor Nomination Form which contained minor revisions from the previous year. The COE Secretary presented the tool kit for members and reviewed the communications plan which would be implemented with the assistance of the Division of University Advancement to promote the call for nominations for three alumni members of Governing Council, College Members were asked to contact their respective university alumni affairs representatives to discuss further dissemination of the Call for Nominations – the Secretary would provide the necessary contact and draft content to Members.

4. Election of the 2018-19 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors

Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM), Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE) and Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College) were elected to the 2018-2019 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) of the College of Electors.

The College returned to open session.

5. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – September 26, 2018.

The minutes of the meeting of September 26, 2018 were approved.

6. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

7. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Wednesday, January 23, 2019 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

8. Other Business

There was no other business.

University of Toronto		
Minutes of the College of Electors	, November 12,	2018

	The meeting adjourned at 6:50 p.m.	
Secretary	Chair	
November 15, 2018		